City/county license
Journeyman Electrician License in Missouri
Written by a licensed IBEW journeyman electrician
Last updated:
We found no statewide journeyman electrician license in Missouri. The state licenses electrical contractors through the Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors. Cities certify journeymen. Springfield requires 75% or better on an ICC exam and 4 years under a master or 6 years in the trade. Check with the city where you'll work.
The facts, from the source
- Who licenses
- No state journeyman board. The Missouri Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (Division of Professional Registration) licenses electrical contractors only. Journeymen are certified by cities, for example Springfield and the City of St. Louis. (pr.mo.gov)
- Exam vendor
- ICC through Pearson VUE (Springfield). The City of St. Louis does not state a vendor on its page. (springfieldmo.gov)
- Passing score
- 75% or better (Springfield) (springfieldmo.gov)
- Experience required
- Springfield journeyman electrician: 4 years under the supervision of a master in the trade OR 6 years of experience in the trade. Notarized trade certification application and experience forms are required. (springfieldmo.gov)
Where the license comes from in Missouri
In Missouri, journeyman licensing is handled locally. Examples we verified:
City of Springfield, Building Development Services: Journeyman Electrician certification
ICC exam through Pearson VUE (the page does not give the exam name). Passing score 75% or better. Reciprocity: the score must come from Prometric, Experior, Block or ICC (Pearson VUE) and be the identical exam. 4 years under the supervision of a master in the trade, or 6 years of experience in the trade. Notarized trade certification application and experience forms. Approval to test is good for 1 year. The board meets the first Thursday of each month.
springfieldmo.govCity of St. Louis, Committee of Electrical Examiners (Building Division)
The Committee determines through a written and oral examination whether applicants have the knowledge for electrical certificates and licenses, including the St. Louis Electrical Code. The page does not state the vendor or exam name.
stlouis-mo.gov
Requirements differ city to city. Check with the building or licensing department where you’ll work.
Confirm these with the board
- Springfield ICC testing fee: official sources disagree. The city page says approximately $125.00 and an ICC bulletin says $115. Confirm with the city.
- Springfield certification fee amount: not confirmed
- Springfield NEC edition and exam name: confirm with the city
- Kansas City and St. Louis County: we have not confirmed journeyman licensing; check with them directly
- City of St. Louis exam vendor, fees and experience: not stated on the pages we reviewed
Partly verified October 24, 2026: some items couldn’t be confirmed from official sources and are listed above
Sparky AI app · iPhone & Android
Study the NEC with an AI that cites the article
Sparky AI answers code questions with exact NEC article citations and has electrical calculators for box fill, conduit fill and voltage drop. It’s a study aid, not a state exam simulator. Free 7-day trial.
All states · NEC exam study guide · NEC practice test
Facts on this page trace to primary sources or first-hand IBEW Local 134 experience — see sources & methodology.