State license
Colorado Journeyman Electrician License
Written by a licensed IBEW journeyman electrician
Last updated:
Colorado licenses journeyman electricians at the state level. The Colorado State Electrical Board issues the license after you pass a PSI exam. You need 8,000 hours earned in no less than 4 years, and 288 hours of classroom education. The exam has 90 scored items and you need 70% to pass.
The facts, from the source
- Who licenses
- Colorado State Electrical Board, Division of Professions and Occupations, DORA (dpo.colorado.gov)
- Exam vendor
- PSI (test-takers.psiexams.com)
- Exam (questions/time)
- 90 scored items, 240 minutes plus 30 minutes for non-scored items. Single Journeyman Wireman exam with compensatory scoring. (test-takers.psiexams.com)
- References
- The NEC book and a Formula Page are provided at the test center. No writing, highlighting, underlining or indexing, and no other materials. (test-takers.psiexams.com)
- Passing score
- 70% (63 items) correct (test-takers.psiexams.com)
- NEC edition
- 2026 NEC for exams effective 8/1/2026. A 2023 book is available on request until 12/1/2026. (test-takers.psiexams.com)
- Experience required
- 8,000 hours earned in no less than 4 years, 2,000 of them commercial or industrial, plus 288 hours of classroom education for all applicants. (dpo.colorado.gov)
- Fees
- Exam $78. Retest $73. Valid one year, nonrefundable. (test-takers.psiexams.com)
- Reciprocity
- Journeyman reciprocal agreements (NERA): Alaska, Arkansas, Idaho, Iowa, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming. The license must have been gained by a state-administered exam. The certificate is issued without the written exam. (dpo.colorado.gov)
What’s on the exam
Items per area: General Electrical Knowledge 11; Services, Feeders, and Branch Circuits 9; Grounding and Bonding 14; Overcurrent Protection 6; Conductors and Cables 8; Raceways and Boxes 5; Special Occupancies 5; Special Equipment 6; Electrical Devices 5; Motors 6; Transformers 4; Photovoltaics 2; Electrical Calculations 9 (90 total).
Confirm these with the board
- License and application fees: not published in the materials we checked
- Credit for trade school or community college toward the experience hours: confirm with the board (not stated on the board pages we could read)
- Reciprocity conditions such as how long the out-of-state license must have been held: confirm with the board (not stated on the board pages we could read)
Colorado State Electrical Board (DORA, Division of Professions and Occupations) ↗
Partly verified October 24, 2026: some items couldn’t be confirmed from official sources and are listed above
Sparky AI app · iPhone & Android
Study the NEC with an AI that cites the article
Sparky AI answers code questions with exact NEC article citations and has electrical calculators for box fill, conduit fill and voltage drop. It’s a study aid, not a state exam simulator. Free 7-day trial.
All states · NEC exam study guide · NEC practice test
Facts on this page trace to primary sources or first-hand IBEW Local 134 experience — see sources & methodology.